Call for Papers

The Formal Epistemology Workshop 2020 will be hosted by the Department of Logic and Philosophy of Science at UC Irvine. We invite paper and poster submissions in formal epistemology broadly construed, including but not limited to probability, decision and game theory, philosophy of science, logic, philosophy of language, social epistemology, as well as suitable papers that intersect with aligned scientific disciplines.

We especially encourage submissions from members of underrepresented groups, graduate students and early career scholars, who will all be considered for partial funding. Paper submissions should be no longer than 6,000 words and should be accompanied by an abstract of maximally 200 words. Submissions for the poster session should consist of an extended abstract of no more than 1,000 words. Authors of paper submissions may indicate whether they wish to be considered for the poster session as well. All submissions should be prepared for anonymous review and will be channeled through the EasyChair submission system.

All FEW participants are invited to attend the 20 year anniversary of the LPS program on May 21, which will include a reception and talks by James Joyce (University of Michigan) and Katie Steele (Australian National University).

Update: The 20th anniversary celebration of the LPS program has been canceled!

Important Dates
Submission Deadline: January 15, 2020
Notifications: March 15, 2020
Registration Deadline: May 1, 2020
Conference: May 22–24, 2020

Local Organizers
Simon Huttegger
Cailin O’Connor
Jeff Barrett

FEW Organizers
Kenny Easwaran
Julia Staffel
Mike Titelbaum

Program Committee

Brad Armendt, Arizona State University
Sara Aronowitz, Princeton University
Richard Bradley, London School of Economics
Ray Briggs, Stanford University
Liam Bright, London School of Economics
Lara Buchak, UC Berkeley
Kenny Easwaran, Texas A&M
Anna-Maria Eder, University of Cologne
Adam Elga, Princeton University
Branden Fitelson, Northeastern University
Melissa Fusco, Columbia University
Remco Heesen, University of Western Australia
Harvey Lederman, Princeton University
Hannes Leitgeb, LMU Munich
Hanti Lin, UC Davis
Anna Mahtani, London School of Economics
Conor Mayo-Wilson, University of Washington
Richard Pettigrew, University of Bristol
Jan-Willem Romeijn, University of Groningen
Felipe Romero, University of Groningen
Gerard Rothfus, UC Irvine
Hannah Rubin, University of Notre Dame
Teddy Seidenfeld, Carnegie Mellon University
Brian Skyrms, UC Irvine
Julia Staffel, University of Colorado Boulder
Johanna Thoma, London School of Economics
Joel Velasco, Texas Tech
Brian Weatherson, University of Michigan
Sylvia Wenmackers, KU Leuven
Francesca Zaffora Blando, Stanford University
Kevin Zollman, Carnegie Mellon University